Saying Goodbye to Drawing a Day

Well, I did it. I stuck with my drawing-a-day project for the entire year of 2014.

I have never been into New Year’s Resolutions, and the ones I made tend to be vague. I tend to be hard on myself so I try not to make goals that will only end up in disappointment.

I have to admit that I missed a few days off and on that I never made up. Instead of giving up, or trying to make up the drawings later in the year, I let it go and kept going. I’m proud that I gave it my best. I ended up with about 360 drawings for the year. I decided not to make up those missed drawings, my style has changed over the months so it wouldn’t be authentic. They exist as blank pages, also as a reminder of what a crazy, exciting month I had in July between ending a job, interviewing for a teaching position in Wisconsin, and attending a family reunion.

It’s fun to see all the places that I’ve been (and drawn) in 2014. The year starts out at my apartment in Grand Forks, ND, then a trip to New York for an art exhibition and to see family, summer trips to the farm in North Dakota, the mountains of Bozeman, Montana, and a family vacation in Minnesota. Finally I ended up in Rice Lake, Wisconsin, where I currently live and work as an art instructor at the college.

Here’s a selection of drawings from my year. I started out with micron marker and eventually switched to colored pencil.

2 comments
  1. casandralee said:

    admire your will and determination. great job sticking through with it!

Leave a comment